nosagcd 247 -

Margareta Hallin we may know primarily as an opera singer with a very successful career. She was born on February 20, 1931 in Karlskoga and left us on February 9, 2020 in Stockholm.

With rich personal experiences as a musician, she began composing in the mid-1980s. As a composer, she was self-taught, but emphasized important encouragement from, among others, composer collegue and opera orchestra musician Eberhard Eyser.

In 1986, he made his debut as a composer with a performance of songs in Drottningholm's palace chapel. The texts were taken from poets such as Nils Ferlin, Harry Martinson, Werner Aspenström and Alf Henrikson. Otherwise, August Strindberg was an author she returned to, for example the chamber opera Fröken Julie (1990) which was staged at Confidencen (it was reprized in 1994) and Den Starkare (1991) which was played at the Rotundan at the Opera in Stockholm. The same work toured in 1993 with the Riksteatern around Sweden and was also performed in a Danish translation in Copenhagen in 1996.

Margareta Hallin's compositions has naturally often been vocal music - her own experiences were an invaluable asset there. She also performed her works herself on several occasions. A portrait CD where she performs her own music together with the clarinetist Kjell Fagéus is published on nosag (nosagCD068 ~ "I think about what I have abandoned..." ).

On this CD is the first recording of the chamber opera DEN STARKARE, and songs for one or two voices with piano or clarinet, all performed by

Sopran: Christin Högnabba Mezzosopran: Matilda Wahlund
clarinetist: Magnus Holmander Pianist: Stefan Lindgren

1 Den starkare, kammaropera ~ sopran, mezzo & clarinet
2 Vargarna tjuta på Skansen ~ sopran & piano
3 Svarta rosor ~ sopran & piano
4 Duett ~ sopran & clarinet
5 November, med skiftningar av ädelt pälsverk ~ sopran, mezzo & piano
6 Som att vara barn ~ sopran, mezzo & piano
7 Cadenza ~ clarinet solo

The whole CD-catalogue of nosag records

| cd catalogue | to GASON site | artists | composers | about nosag records |

Order CDs directly from nosag: Our Full Catalogue

Legal Notice:
All recordings made available on these pages are done so with permission from STIM (The Swedish Performance Rights Society) and NCB (Nordic Copyright Bureau). They are protected by © copyright and any unauthorized use of the present soundfiles will be prosecuted. If you have any questions in this matter please visit STIM/NCB's website or contact us.