The organ virtuoso Torvald Torén plays the historically interesting old Cahman organ in Leufsta Bruk in Sweden:
The organ of Leufsta Bruk Church is the largest surviving Baroque instrument in Sweden. It was built between 1726 and 1728 by Johan Niclas Cahman (c. 1680-1737), the most eminent organ builder in Sweden at that time. Miraculously, it has been spared any really drastic alterations over the years and remains virtually in its pristine state. The organ was restored in 1933 by John Westerlund, Leufsta Bruk and in 1964 by Marcussen & Søn, Aabenraa, Denmark. In 2006 the organ was restored by Mats Arvidsson, Stallarholmen in cooperation with Åkerman & Lund, Knivsta.

This recording from 1975 presents the organ as it was after the restauration in 1964. At that time the organ was tuned in equal temperament. The organ then had regulator bellows from 1964 that have later been removed.

Torvald Torén (1945-2001) was one of Sweden’s most prominent organists of his time. With brilliant technique and skillful interpretation he stood out as a model for an entire generation of young organists. In his concerts he devoted himself mainly to the French romantic-symphonic repertoire, and was considered worldwide to be one of the foremost authorities of this tradition. He gave recitals internationally in the most prestigious venues, and made a reputation for himself as a virtuoso organist of outstanding international caliber. He was also a sought-after lecturer and a jury panel member at several international organ competitions.

You need Real Audio to listen to this file:
Bach: Toccata D minor (BWV565)

Listen to all nosag CDs on the air:
"YESS music"
with the whole CD-catalogue of nosag records


Prelude and Fugue in C Major (BWV 547)
1 Prelude 5:04
2 Fugue 5:36
Prelude and Fugue in A Minor (BWV 543)
3 Prelude 3:29
4 Fugue 7:14
Toccata and Fugue in D Minor (BWV 565)
5 Toccata 2:46
6 Fugue 6:45
Three Leipzig Chorals:
7 ”Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland” (BWV 659) 5:04
8 ”Von Gott will ich nicht lassen” (BWV 658) 5:37
9 ”Komm, Gott, Schöpfer, Heiliger Geist” (BWV 667) 2:25
Trio Sonata No 1 in E flat Major (BWV 525)
10 (Allegro) 3:17
11 Adagio 4:36
12 Allegro 4:15
Toccata, Adagio and Fugue in C Major (BWV 564)
13 Toccata 5:25
14 Adagio 5:15
15 Fugue 4:43
durata 71:38
| cd catalogue | to GASON site | artists | composers | about nosag records |

Check also all nosag Web Casting Stations on the air 24h at

Legal Notice:
All recordings made available on these pages are done so with permission from STIM (The Swedish Performance Rights Society) and NCB (Nordic Copyright Bureau). They are protected by © copyright and any unauthorized use of the present soundfiles will be prosecuted. If you have any questions in this matter please visit STIM/NCB's website or contact us.